Privileged

Do you feel rich?  I don’t… or at least I didn’t.

I’ve not secretly hit The Times rich list, and the way I’m going I’m not likely to hit it either!  However I was absolutely shocked to find out my wage puts me within the top 1% on the global rich list.  Top 1%, that is staggering.

Here are some stats from the World Bank Development Research Group;

3 billion people in this world get by on less than $2 a day

1.3 billion on less than $1 a day

70% of those 1.3 billion are women.

How do those facts make you feel?  Overwhelmed, disconnected, helpless, frustrated, maybe even angry?  The problem I find is how to make it real in my life.  How do I understand and how can I make a difference.  It’s too easy to sit back and let the status quo tick over. Doing nothing can’t be an option.

So I took the ‘Live Below The Line Challenge’.  Five days living on £1 a day for food & drink.  It took a lot of planning, and even more self control.  Porridge, rice, pasta and lentil dhal became staples for me.  It was suitably difficult and really made me consider how fortunate me & my family are for being in that top 1%.  The planning made life more difficult, the lack of flexibility, even tea & coffee became absolute treats.

You may say this is a stunt, not making any change at all.  Well we raised a little money for Christian Aid, but beyond that I have physically experienced that I am privileged.  I need to be so thankful for all I have here, need to be a better steward with what I have & do as much as I can to support those not so fortunate to be given all the opportunity I have.  It has made me sit up and take notice.

Especially as Christians I think sitting back and doing nothing is not good enough.  I admit it is tough in this day and age of constant information bombardment.  A world full of need.  I encourage you to pick one thing and make a change, do a little and it might just make a huge difference.

So if it’s only 5 mins on an internet game, make it this one & get some food to those who need it FreeRice (see if you can beat level 20!)

Or a bigger challenge, have a go at the Live Below The Line Challenge.  I have found it life changing.

3 thoughts on “Privileged

  1. I agree sitting back and doing nothing is ignorance to the right side of the fence….the grass is always greener on the other side/ I’m alright Jack. It’s hard not to be envious of other people but the best way to do is ignore it……but what does make me annoyed is boasting and the presumption is people with A lot of money are as tight as and only think of themselves ….I could be wrong but I’m thankful for what i / we do have and know we are better off than the billion plus people living on $2 a day.

  2. Really challenging post, I’m wondering how I can fight injustice in my daily life! Something to pray on I think.

  3. Pingback: What is your screensaver? | Strive

Please leave a reply

